Continuum of Care

In the City of Spokane, people experiencing homelessness are provided services that target their barriers and needs to achieving housing stability. This is done through what is called a "Continuum of Care", or CoC. Spokane's CoC provides a suite of services for people experiencing homelessness that is supported through multiple local, state, and federal funding sources.

Broadly, the program is designed to promote community-wide planning and strategic use of resources to:

  • Address homelessness;
  • Improve coordination and integration with mainstream resources and other programs targeted to people experiencing homelessness;
  • Improve data collection and performance measurement; and
  • Allow each community to tailor its program to the particular strengths and challenges within that community.

Each year, the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) awards CoC Program funding competitively to nonprofit organizations, states, units of local governments, and/or instrumentalities of state or local government, who can subgrant with other organizations to carry out the grant's day-to-day program operations. Spokane is fortunate to have a strong group of partners and stakeholders to support this work.

The CoC is governed by a Board made up of local government, service providers, stakeholders, and people who have experienced homelessness. The Board is guided by HUD and the United States Interagency Council on Homelessness (USICH) national goals in ending homelessness amongst those who are chronically homeless, veterans, unaccompanied youth, and households with and without children to tailor our community's crisis response system to the needs of our community members facing a vulnerable place in their lives. The CoC Board is designed to promote community-wide planning, strategic use of resources for addressing homelessness, and to improve coordination and integration with mainstream resources and other programs targeted to people experiencing homelessness. The Board also provides community leadership to further our goals around improving data collection and performance measurement and, ultimately, tailoring our suite of services to address the challenges the community faces by utilizing our strengths and leveraging partnerships and community support.

CoC Board

Name Email Position
Angela Chapman aglothchapman@gmail.com Family Representative
Dale Briese dalebriese82@gmail.com Single Adult Representative
Mike Stimson mwstimson@gmail.com Veterans Representative
Gage Spicer gspicer@voaspokane.org Youth Representative
Jennifer Haynes jenniferh@ywcaspokane.org Provider, Supportive Services Rep
Shannon Boniface shannon.boniface@cceasternwa.org Provider, Temporary Housing Rep
Vacant Provider, Permanent Housing Rep
Jenn Cerecedes jcerecedes@spokanecity.org City of Spokane Representative
Arne Woodard arne21@comcast.net City of Spokane Valley Rep
Tim Crowley TCrowley@spokanecounty.org Spokane County Representative
Mary Logan mlogan@spokanecity.org Law & Justice Community Rep
Hallie Burchinell hallie@catspokane.org Behavioral Health/Chem. Dep. Rep
Vacant Spokane Regional Health District
Mark Mattke mmattke@wdcspokane.com Workforce Development Rep
Erik Larson erik.larson@dcyf.wa.gov Child Welfare Representative
Arielle Anderson aanderson@spokanehousing.org Public Housing Authority Rep
Cat Nichols cnichols@spokanecounty.org Veteran Service Agency Rep
Dr. Bob Lutz teamab@msn.com Healthcare Provider/Hospital Rep
Vacant Business Community Representative
Daniel Klemme Daniel@housingnavigator.org Landlord Association/Private Rep
Vacant K-12 Education Representative
Brian Davenport bdavenport2@ewu.edu Higher Education Representative
Robert Lippman robert.lippman11@gmail.com Homeless Coalition Representative
Andrey Muzychenko AndreyM@unitedwayspokane.org Philanthropy Representative
Ben Stuckart benstuckart@gmail.com At-Large Representative
Jason Campbell JTCampbell@chas.org At-Large Representative

Executive Committee

Name Email Position
Tim Crowley TCrowley@spokanecounty.org Spokane County Representative
Arne Woodard awoodard@spokanevalley.org City of Spokane Valley Representative
Jennifer Cerecedes jcerecedes@spokanecity.org City of Spokane Representative
Arielle Anderson aanderson@spokanehousing.org Public Housing Authority Representative
Erik Larson erik.larson@dcyf.wa.gov Child Welfare Representative
Shannon Boniface shannon.boniface@cceasternwa.org Provider, Temporary Housing Representative
Brian Davenport bdavenport2@ewu.edu Higher Education Representative
Ben Stuckart benstuckart@gmail.com Chair, At-Large Representative
Dale Briese dalebriese82@gmail.com Vice Chair, Single Adult Representative

CMIS Committee:

Families:

Single Adults:

Veterans:

Youth and Young Adult:

Diversion:

Racial Equity:

Agendas

2022
2021
2020
2019
2018
2017
2016
2014

Minutes

2022
2021
2020
2019
2018

Related Documents

Items of Interest

System Maps

Resource Pocket Guide

Resources Pocket Guide
Updated on Jan. 20, 2022