Continuum of Care

In the City of Spokane, people experiencing homelessness are provided services that target their barriers and needs to achieving housing stability. This is done through what is called a "Continuum of Care", or CoC. Spokane's CoC provides a suite of services for people experiencing homelessness that is supported through multiple local, state, and federal funding sources.

Broadly, the program is designed to promote community-wide planning and strategic use of resources to:

  • Address homelessness;
  • Improve coordination and integration with mainstream resources and other programs targeted to people experiencing homelessness;
  • Improve data collection and performance measurement; and
  • Allow each community to tailor its program to the particular strengths and challenges within that community.

Each year, the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) awards CoC Program funding competitively to nonprofit organizations, states, units of local governments, and/or instrumentalities of state or local government, who can subgrant with other organizations to carry out the grant's day-to-day program operations. Spokane is fortunate to have a strong group of partners and stakeholders to support this work.

The CoC is governed by a Board made up of local government, service providers, stakeholders, and people who have experienced homelessness. The Board is guided by HUD and the United States Interagency Council on Homelessness (USICH) national goals in ending homelessness amongst those who are chronically homeless, veterans, unaccompanied youth, and households with and without children to tailor our community's crisis response system to the needs of our community members facing a vulnerable place in their lives. The CoC Board is designed to promote community-wide planning, strategic use of resources for addressing homelessness, and to improve coordination and integration with mainstream resources and other programs targeted to people experiencing homelessness. The Board also provides community leadership to further our goals around improving data collection and performance measurement and, ultimately, tailoring our suite of services to address the challenges the community faces by utilizing our strengths and leveraging partnerships and community support.

CoC Accepting Applications for Board Positions

The Spokane City/Spokane County Continuum of Care Board has opening for board members for the following positions: Landlord Association/Private Landlord and Behavioral Health and Chemical Dependency. If you are interested in joining the mission of the CoC to make homelessness rare, brief, and non-recurring in Spokane, submit your completed application to bschreiber@spokanecity.org

Board Members

Name Agency Email
Angela Chapman Transitions achapman@help4women.org
Dale Briese   dalebriese82@gmail.com
New Position - Veterans Subcommittee to fill Early 2021
Lynsey Romero Volunteers of America lromero@voaspokane.org
Jennifer Haynes YWCA jenniferh@ywcaspokane.org
Fawn Schott Volunteers of America fschott@voaspokane.org
Michele Harris VP of Workforce & Family Services micheleh@giin.org
Kirstin Davis City of Spokane kdavis@spokanecity.org
Pam Haley City of Spokane Valley phaley@spokanevalley.org
Tim Crowley Spokane County TCrowley@spokanecounty.org
Captain Dave Singley Spokane Police Department dsingley@spokanepolice.org
VACANT
Mark Mattke Spokane Workforce Council mmattke@wdcspokane.com
Erik Larson Department of Children, Youth, and Families erik.larson@dshs.wa.gov
Pam Parr Spokane Housing Authority pparr@spokanehousing.org
Cat Nichols Spokane County/Eastern WA Regional Veterans Services CathreneN@DVA.WA.GOV
Dr Bob Lutz Medical bob.lutz@doh.wa.gov
Jan Simpson Spokane Eye Clinic jsimpson@spokaneeye.com
VACANT
Dr. Mike Dunn ESD-101 mdunn@esd101.net
Dr. Brian Davenport Eastern Washington University bdavenport2@ewu.edu
Robert Lippman Spokane Homeless Coalition robert.lippman11@gmail.com
Andrey Muzychenko United Way AndreyM@unitedwayspokane.org
Ben Stuckart Spokane Low-Income Housing Consortium benstuckart@gmail.com
Jason Campbell CHAS JTCampbell@chas.org

Committee Leadership

Families

Serena Graves – Family Promise of Spokane
Shannon Boniface – Catholic Charities of Eastern Washington

Single Adults

David Sackman – Catholic Charities
Eric Robison – Goodwill Industries of the Inland Northwest

Veterans

Braden Fish – Goodwill Industries of the Inland Northwest

Youth and Young Adult

Cecily Ferguson – United Way of Spokane County
Bridget Cannon – Volunteers of America

Diversion

Megan Chandler – Volunteers of America
Julius Henrichsen – Volunteers of America
Jasmine Bower – SNAP

Agendas

Minutes


Related Documents

Items of Interest

System Maps