Continuum of Care

In the City of Spokane, people experiencing homelessness are provided services that target their barriers and needs to achieving housing stability. This is done through what is called a "Continuum of Care", or CoC. Spokane's CoC provides a suite of services for people experiencing homelessness that is supported through multiple local, state, and federal funding sources.

Broadly, the program is designed to promote community-wide planning and strategic use of resources to:

  • Address homelessness;
  • Improve coordination and integration with mainstream resources and other programs targeted to people experiencing homelessness;
  • Improve data collection and performance measurement; and
  • Allow each community to tailor its program to the particular strengths and challenges within that community.

Each year, the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) awards CoC Program funding competitively to nonprofit organizations, states, units of local governments, and/or instrumentalities of state or local government, who can subgrant with other organizations to carry out the grant's day-to-day program operations. Spokane is fortunate to have a strong group of partners and stakeholders to support this work.

The CoC is governed by a Board made up of local government, service providers, stakeholders, and people who have experienced homelessness. The Board is guided by HUD and the United States Interagency Council on Homelessness (USICH) national goals in ending homelessness amongst those who are chronically homeless, veterans, unaccompanied youth, and households with and without children to tailor our community's crisis response system to the needs of our community members facing a vulnerable place in their lives. The CoC Board is designed to promote community-wide planning, strategic use of resources for addressing homelessness, and to improve coordination and integration with mainstream resources and other programs targeted to people experiencing homelessness. The Board also provides community leadership to further our goals around improving data collection and performance measurement and, ultimately, tailoring our suite of services to address the challenges the community faces by utilizing our strengths and leveraging partnerships and community support.

Board Members

Name Agency Email
Angela Chapman Advocate aglothchapman@gmail.com
David Singley Spokane Police Downtown Precinct dsingley@spokanepolice.org
Cat Nichols Spokane County Veteran's Services cnichols@spokanecounty.org
Dale Briese Advocate dalebriese82@gmail.com
Kelly Keenan City of Spokane, Community, Housing, & Human Services kkeenan@spokanecity.org
Edie Rice-Sauer Transitions erice-sauer@help4women.org
Erik Larson Children's Administration erik.larson@dshs.wa.gov
Fawn Schott Volunteers of America fschott@voaspokane.org
Jeff Thomas Frontier Behavioral Health jthomas@fbhwa.org
Mark Mattke Spokane Workforce Development Council mmattke@wdcspokane.com
Michael Dunn Superintendent of ESD mdunn@esd101.net
Michelle Harris Goodwill micheleh@giin.org
Pam Tietz Spokane Housing Authority ptietz@spokanehousing.org
Joe Ader Homeless Coalition/Family Promise jader@familypromiseofspokane.org
Sally Pritchard United Way sallyp@unitedwayspokane.org
Arne Woodard Spokane Valley, County Commissioner awoodard@spokanevalley.org
Anne Whigham-Stuyvesant CHHS Board Chair astuyvesantwhigham@spokanecity.org
Bob Lutz Spokane Regional Health District blutz@srhd.org
Jan Simpson Spokane Eye Clinic jsimpson@spokaneye.org
Jennifer Haynes YWCA Jenniferh@ywcaspokane.org
Tim Crowley Spokane County, Housing & Community Development tcrowley@spokanecounty.org
Leslie Whalen DSHS whaleLA@dshs.wa.gov

Continuum of Care Committees

Continuum of Care Board
Chairperson: Pam Tietz, Spokane Housing Authority

Youth Sub-Committee
Co-Chairperson: Bridget Cannon, Volunteers of America
Co-Chairperson: Sarah Spier, Daybreak Youth Services

Families Sub-Committee
Chairperson: Sharon Stadelman, Catholic Charities of Eastern Washington

Chronic Sub-Committee
Co-Chairperson: Sam Dompier, Catholic Charities of Eastern Washington
Co-Chairperson: Rayan Orbom, Volunteers of America

Veterans Sub-Committee
Chairperson: Dean Salvio, Goodwill Industries of the Inland Northwest

Diversion Sub-Committee
Co-Chairperson: Amanda Fowler, Catholic Charities of Eastern Washington
Co-Chairperson: Heather Thomas-Taylor, Volunteers of America

Agendas

Minutes


Related Documents

Items of Interest

System Maps