Spokane County Growth Management Steering Committee

Authorized by and Date: RCW 41.16 (Title 4) in 1970.

Mission Statement/Purpose: The Growth Management Steering Committee of Elected Officials was established in 1995 to oversee the implementation of the Growth Management Act for the entire Spokane region. Membership includes elected officials from the City of Spokane, City of Spokane Valley, Liberty Lake, Airway Heights, Cheney, Deer Park, Medical Lake, Millwood and one elected official to represent the small towns of Fairfield, Latah, Rockford, Spangle and Waverly. In addition to these elected officials who serve as voting members, the Steering Committee includes three elected officials as non voting members. They represent the school districts, water districts and fire protection districts as well as one citizen-at-large member representing the urban growth areas in Spokane County.

The Steering Committee is intended to serve as a regional forum for urban growth issues and growth management planning. Some of the specific responsibilities of the Steering Committee are to:

  • Oversee joint planning within UGAs
  • Recommend standards for defining UGAs
  • Recommend minimum levels of service for UGAs
  • Recommend distribution of future growth
  • Negotiate UGA designations
  • Make recommendations regarding UGAs to the Board of County Commissioners

Meeting date, time and location: The Steering Committee meets on the third Wednesday of each month at the Spokane Transit Authority building and all meetings are open to the public. The Steering Committee is staffed by a Planning Technical Advisory Committee composed of technical staff from each jurisdiction.

Members: The City of Spokane is represented by Councilmember Michael Cathcart, Councilmember Kitty Klitzke, and Councilmember Paul Dillon.

No recent agendas or minutes found.


County Liaison

Vickie Merriott

Council Committee
Urban Experience