Plan Commission

Authorized by and Date: Authorized through Charter Section 128, in 1910 and SMC 04.12

Mission Statement/Purpose: Plan Commission provides advice and makes recommendations on broad planning goals and policies and other matters as requested by the City Council. The minutes from the Plan Commission meetings and their findings and recommendations are available on this website.

The Plan Commission provides opportunities for public participation in City planning by providing through its own membership an informed opinion to complement the work of the City's elected officials and administrative departments. They also solicit public comment on planning issues of City-wide importance or of a substantial community concern, evaluating those comments received. Assistance of experts and others with knowledge or ideas to contribute to City planning are secured as well.

Plan Commission holds public hearings and makes recommendations to the City Council regarding the following matters:

  • Amendments to the City's Comprehensive Plan and the development regulations implementing the Comprehensive Plan
  • Changes in the corporate limits of the City, including the land use designations and zoning to become effective upon the annexation of any area proposed for annexation or which might reasonably be expected to be annexed by the City at any future time.

Meeting date, time and location: The Plan Commission meets the Second and Fourth Wednesday of each month at 2 p.m. in the Council Briefing Center, 808 W. Spokane Falls Blvd., in Spokane City Hall.

Meeting date, time and location: The Transportation Subcommittee meets the first Tuesday of each month at 9 a.m. in the Council Briefing Center, 808 W. Spokane Falls Blvd., in Spokane City Hall.

Members Term Began Term Expiration
Carole Shook 1/1/2018 12/31/2021
Diana Painter 1/1/2018 12/31/2021
Greg Francis, Vice President 1/1/2018 12/31/2021
John Dietzman 1/1/2017 (2nd Term) 12/31/2020
Michael Baker 1/1/2017 (2nd Term) 12/31/2020
Sylvia St. Clair 1/1/2018 12/31/2021
Todd Beyreuther, President 1/1/2020 (2nd Term) 12/31/2023
Vacant   12/31/2022
Vacant   12/31/2022
Vacant   12/31/2023
Louis Meuler, Secretary    
Jackie Churchill, Staff    

General Documents

Meeting Materials

December 09, 2015
November 11, 2015
October 28, 2015
October 14, 2015
September 23, 2015
August 26, 2015
August 12, 2015
July 22, 2015
July 08, 2015
June 24, 2015
June 10, 2015
May 13, 2015
April 22, 2015
April 08, 2015
March 25, 2015
March 11, 2015
February 25, 2015
February 11, 2015
January 28, 2015






Plan Commission

City Staff

Candace Mumm
Council Liaison

James Richman
Legal Counsel


Mary Winkes
Community Assembly Liaison