Garbage pickup, curbside recycling, and clean green pickup will be a day late all week, with Friday's pickup occurring on Saturday due to the Memorial Day holiday. Please have your carts out at point of collection by 6 a.m. on your collection day. See more information regarding city closures.

Public Facilities District Board

Authorized by and Date: As required by RCW 36.100, the SPFD was created by resolution of the Spokane City Council and Board of Spokane County Commissioners.

Mission Statement/Purpose: The Spokane Public Facilities District was created by the Washington State Legislature in 1989 for the sole purpose of acquisition, design, construction, and operation of the Spokane Veterans Memorial Arena which opened in September of 1995. In May 2002, Spokane County voters overwhelmingly authorized the Regional Projects, including the expansion of the Spokane Convention Center, which opened in July 2006. The district is an independent municipal corporation. The tax revenues consist of 1/10 of 1% sales/use tax, a sales tax rebate, and a 2% hotel/motel tax in Spokane County.

Membership: The District is governed by a five-member Board, two of whom are appointed by the City Council, two appointed by the Board of Spokane County Commissioners, and one representing the hospitality industry in Spokane County, appointed by the other 4 members.

Terms: Members of the board of directors must serve four-year terms of office.

Meeting dates, agendas, and more facilities information can be found on the official PFD website at

Members Appointment Expiration Position Term
Marty Dickinson, Chair 01/01/2021 12/31/2024 Board of County Commissioners Appointee 1st Term
Paul Reed, Vice Chair 10/15/2021 10/14/2025 Board of County Commissioners Appointee 1st Term
Ed Bruya 10/05/2021 10/04/2025 Citizen Member, Council Appointee 1st Term
Harry Sladich 01/14/2022 01/13/2026 Lodging Industry Representative and Member of Spokane Hotel Motel Association 1st Term
Cami Eakins 08/29/2023 08/28/2027 Citizen Member, Council Appointee 1st Term

No recent agendas or minutes found.


Staff Liaison

Stephanie Curran
Chief Executive Officer