Garbage pickup, curbside recycling, and clean green pickup will be a day late all week, with Friday's pickup occurring on Saturday due to the Memorial Day holiday. Please have your carts out at point of collection by 6 a.m. on your collection day. See more information regarding city closures.

Spokane Housing Authority Board

Authorized by and Date: Authorized by Spokane City Council (RCW 35.82) on May, 26, 1972.

Mission Statement/Purpose: The Spokane Housing Authority (SHA) is a public body, corporate and politic of the State of Washington. Its physical boundaries originally included the City of Spokane and five miles beyond those boundaries. It now serves, through a variety of cooperation agreements, all of the unincorporated Spokane County and the most of the incorporated municipalities within the County. SHA also provides rental assistance in Lincoln, Stevens, Pend Oreille and Whitman Counties and functions as lead agency for a 12-County Eastern Washington housing program for persons with AIDS. While the SHA is not a part of Spokane City government, the Mayor of Spokane appoints its commission members. The state legislature has created housing authorities to ameliorate the shortage of safe and sanitary dwelling accommodations available at costs, which persons of low income can afford. The Authority may buy, build or lease housing by itself or in cooperation with the Federal Government to accomplish its objectives to supply decent, safe and sanitary housing in the community. Housing Authorities also have the capacity to issue tax-exempt bonds.

Meeting date, time and location: The Board meets the Fourth Monday of each month at 3:30 p.m. at the Offices of the SHA, 25 W. Nora Ave., Spokane, WA 99205, in the large conference room.

The Spokane Housing Authority Board is a seven member board, six of whom are appointed by the City of Spokane, City of Spokane Valley, and Spokane County. The seventh member is someone receiving services through SHA and is appointed by the standing Commissioners.

Name Committee Occupation Term Start Term End
Besse Bailey, Spokane County
Finance Mountain West Bank –
Commercial Lending
07/2014 05/15/2023
Joycelynn Straight
Vice Chair
Policy Resident and Community Health Advocate 12/2016 10/01/2024
Kai Nevala, City of Spokane
Finance Unify Community Health 07/10/2017 12/05/2027
Jenny McClenathen, City of Spokane Valley
Development Affordable Housing 4/26/2021 12/31/2024
Randy Bustamante, Spokane County
Development R&D Global Firmware 11/02/2021 11/02/2026
Kristina Walker, City of Spokane Valley
Policy Health Services 12/06/2022 12/06/2027
Marcus Kelsey, City of Spokane
Development Compliance (Youth Services) 01/01/2023 12/31/2027

No recent agendas or minutes found.


Spokane Housing Authority
25 W. Nora Ave.
Spokane, WA 99205
Phone: 509.252.7125
Fax: 509.323.2364


Pamela Parr
Executive Director

Lori McGowan
Deputy Director/CFO

Erin Larson
Property Operations Manager

Amanda Carpentier
Executive Assistant

Arielle Anderson
Director of Rental Assistance Programs

Kammi Smith
Legal Counsel