Spokane Public Library Board of Trustees

Authorized by and Date: RCW 27.12(Title 6)

Mission Statement/Purpose: The Trustees represent the library both to the people and to the governing officials. It is the Trustees' obligation to see that adequate funds are obtained for good library service; to promote the best possible use of all library resources in the area, to improve existing libraries; and to extend library service to those not previously served.

Meeting date, time and location: The Board of Trustees generally meet on the third Tuesday of each month at 4:30 p.m. in Room 1A of the Downtown Library, 906 W. Main. Please check this webpage to confirm time and location.

Members Term Limits
Lara Hemingway 04/01/2020 – 03/31/2025
Mary Starkey 04/01/2019 – 03/21/2024
Jim Kershner, Vice Chair 04/01/2021 – 03/31/2024
(Filling unexpired term vacated by Cindy Weiser)
Nathan G. Smith, Chair 04/01/2018 – 03/31/2023
(Served also in an unexpired term vacated by Ned Barnes from 7/18/11 to 3/31/13)
Casey Linane-Booey IV 04/01/2017 – 03/31/2022



City Staff

Andrew Chanse
Library Director

Mike Piccolo
Legal Counsel

Kate Burke
Council Liaison