Spokane Transit Authority

Authorized by and Date: The Spokane Transit Authority is a municipal corporation operating and existing under and pursuant to the Constitution and laws of the State of Washington, under Chapter 36.57A RCW; 566-03 on October 22, 2003.

Mission Statement/Purpose: The Spokane Transit Authority is goverened by the Board of Directors. The Board provides the policy and legislative direction for Spokane Transit and its administrators and approves its actions, budgets and long-term plans. It also has the authority to levy taxes as authorized by state law (with voter approval).

Requirements: By state law, the Board is composed of up to nine elected officials (and one non-voting STA labor representative) chosen from the jurisdictions served by the Public Transportation Benefit Area, which includes the cities of Airway Heights, Cheney, Medical Lake, Milwood, Liberty Lake, Spokane, Spokane Valley and some unincorporated portions of the county surrounding those municipalities.

Date, time and location: The Board meets on the Third Thursday of the month at the STA Boardroom, 1229 W. Boone Ave, from 1:30 to 3:30 p.m. The only exceptions are the July and October meetings, which will occur on the Fourth Thursday of those months.

Members Title
Al French, Chair Pro Tempore Spokane County Commissioner
Chuck Hafner City of Spokane Valley Council Member
Amber Waldref City of Spokane Council Member
Candace Mumm City of Spokane Council Member
Steve Peterson Mayor, City of Liberty Lake
Ed Pace City of Spokane Valley Council Member
Shelly O'Quinn Spokane County Commissioner
Patrick Rushing Mayor, City of Airway Heights
Tom Trulove, Chair Mayor, City of Cheney
Rhonda Bowers Labor Representative: Spokane Transit


Staff Liaison

Jan Watson
Clerk of the Authority